FIN

Hey everyone! So this post is going to be a little bit different from the others. See, I’m breaking the fourth wall down so-to-speak and writing all about…writing. Yep, this post is my experience this past semester and being assigned this Blog as one of our projects.

To be quite honest, at first I was very unsure of what to write about, sometimes I still am, and that’s okay. However, I am happy that I had this assignment because it was a way for me to be able to get out of my comfort zone and actually hone in on my writing skills and abilities. Sure, I still make mistakes every once in a while, but then again, so does everyone.

Some of the things that I really enjoyed about WordPress was the fact that it was so user-friendly throughout the entire process. It seemed to have an add-on/button for any feature you really wanted to incorporate into your work. My favorite tool, for some weird enough reason, was the widget and being able to show my tweets as they air live.

Why you may ask? I take pride in my jokes and truly believe I am hilarious, so of course why not be happy for even more exposure! (by the way, if you’re not already following, go ahead
@jakethecole)
As for things that weren’t effective and could use improvement, I would have to say with making the layouts and preset themes, a little easier to be able to strip away and customize even further.

This blog was not only just an exciting class project for me, it was also a chance to sharpen my writing and add to my portfolio. Allowing myself the opportunity to publish my content online and creating that presence early on is going to benefit me hugely whenever it comes to trying to achieve that desired internship or dream job.

I have able to take the posts that I have previously published, look and interpret the analytical and statistics that come with it, and pitch it into credibility that I am an experienced writer (which is even true now).

For instance my post popular week was the week of Feb 6, with a total of 44 views and 14 visitors. My most popular post being my post where I actually gave a shout out to fellow blogger LADYHOOD. Overall it got 22 views, not the most, but for being an organic blog with just myself promoting it, I’m proud of the momentum that is being made.

My future plans for the blog are really to post whenever I have something on my mind, or there is something that I feel needs a voice. I am glad that I did have the chance to be an active voice advocating for LGBT rights and equality. Love is Love. And with that, until next time, stay fierce, and stay fabulous!

 

 

Leave a comment